My Big Old Granny

April 22, 2009 at 3:32 pm 2 comments

grannysquare1

I have been going back and forth deciding what I want to do with all of my leftover scraps of sock yarn. do I want to make a blanket or socks? I started the Sock Yarn Blanket by Shelly Kang, but i wasn’t enjoying it and didn’t like how the back of it looked. I started just knitting squares but that was tedious. I started playing around with monster socks put didn’t like joining new yarn and weaving them all in constantly. Then yesterday I started thinking about granny squares. They have to be one of my favorite things to make. They crochet up fast, you don’t have to think to make them, and there are countless ways to do them and what you can use them for. So I got out my big bag of scrap sock yarn and started to make them!

grannysquares-006grannysquares-016

Then my mom saw them and she fell in love with them. In her “sweet” “charming” voice she said, “Can I have it?” How can I say no to my mother?! So I said of course. I’m starting to see a pattern, with all of the blankets I’m working on my mother decides to “adopt” them. LOL.

grannysquares-026

So now I am really digging this afghan, but here is where I call on the help from my fellow knitters. If you have any leftover fingering weight (doesn’t matter what color, or if it’s machine washable or not) that you don’t want or can “donate to me” I would be soo soo soo grateful. If you can, just send me an email at harddaysknit@yahoo.com. I would love you forever ;)

Entry filed under: crochet. Tags: , , , , .

1st Sale Finished, but still no name

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Terri Lynn  |  April 29, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Oh, my, I am in the same boat, so I have been cruising through yarns on Ravelry to see whose selling/swapping! Plus my friend is doing the same thing to me, begging! I think all this knitting/crochet craze is catching up with us all and now we want to destash our scraps in a useful way! Over and over and over what’s old is new again!

    Reply
  • 2. lucy@attic24  |  May 21, 2009 at 1:48 am

    WOW I LOVE your crochet projects!!
    The granny squares look mazing worked in variagated yarn, I love them…and your ripple blankie is looking gorgeous too.
    I’m so glad I came to visit :o)
    Lucexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

twitter

Flickr Photos

sophie

sophie

scottie2.5

potholder5.5

potholder4.5

potholder2.5

More Photos

Top Posts

Your rainbow is shaded yellow.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What is says about you: You are a joyful person. You appreciate optimism. You're good at getting people to like you.

Find the colors of your rainbow at spacefem.com.

Socks Completed Year-to-Date

4 pairs of socks in 2009
8 pairs of socks in 2008

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

